1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OSX: Target Display Mode blocking keyboard/mouse switching

Discussion in 'Questions and Support' started by Edwin Tielen, Apr 3, 2018.

1. Edwin Tielen

Edwin Tielen New Member

Hi,

I'm a newbie user of across as of today. Have an iMac 27" and a Macbook Pro (MBP). I've used the Target Display Mode to connect my MBP to the iMac to use as external display. With my old hardware KVM switch this was working well, but want use the Mac keyboard and mouse to share between both.
    If I have iMac as Across Server and separate (not connect) MBP as client I can switch keyboard/mouse back and forward with the two option keys, no problem. When I have the Across Center open I can see connection moving from one to the other. As soon as I connect my MiniDisplayPort and use the Target Display Mode, the option keys are no longer responding. IMHO this seems like a bug, but I'd love to be wrong.
    Anyone has seen this before and knows a fix or workaround?

2. Seungjin Lee

Seungjin Lee Member

Hello Edwin Tielen,

Welcome! Thanks for joining us.:)
    The keyboard you are using, is connected to iMac and if iMac works in the Target Display Mode, I think it becomes just a monitor and therefore your keyboard would not work at all.

I think you need to use your MBP as Across Server and connect your keyboard to MBP. With this setup, you can always use your keyboard regardless of your iMac operation mode.

3. Edwin Tielen

Edwin Tielen New Member

Thanks Seungjin, that may be an option, just not sure if the key combo cmd-F2 will still work if the keyboard is attached to the MBP. I may want to give it a try tomorrow night. Bed-time now :)

4. Edwin Tielen

Edwin Tielen New Member